Winners Announced

March 3, 2017

The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 28 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today. The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS, Division I-AAA, II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior College/Community Colleges). Winners will be recognized during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, June 13 at NACDA's 52nd Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione explains the Under Armour ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to student-athletes, campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Once again, we are proud to honor the 28 directors of athletics, from all levels of NACDA’s membership, as the Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year Class of 2016-17,” said Vecchione. “This award was created by the leadership of NACDA in 1998 to honor those athletics directors who have done an outstanding job in the eyes of their peers. In the 19-year history of the program, we have honored in excess of 425 of the top athletics directors in the industry.”

Winners of the 2016-17 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are: 

Winner Institution
  Football Bowl Subdivision
Sandy Barbour Penn State University
Boo Corrigan Army West Point
Jay Jacobs Auburn University
Blake James University of Miami
  Football Championship Subdivision
Jeff Bourne James Madison University
Brian Faison University of North Dakota
Lee Reed Georgetown University
Vaughn Williams Kennesaw State University
  Division I-AAA
Patrick Elliott Binghamton University
Jeff Konya Oakland University
Ed McLaughlin VCU
Patrick Nero George Washington University
  Division II
Earl Edwards UC San Diego
Ivan Marquez Concordia College (NY)
Pennie Parker Rollins College
Lisa Sweany Armstrong State University
  Division III
Bridget Belgiovine Wellesley College
Sue Lauder Fitchburg State University
John Neese Hardin-Simmons University
Don Tencher Rhode Island College
Arabie Conner Ottawa University
Willis Pooler Lindsey Wilson College
Bill Popp Reinhardt University
Drew Watson Southeastern University
  Junior/Community Colleges
Dudley "Skip" Bailey Monroe Community College
Rob Chaney Tallahassee Community College
Albert Gasparian Golden West College
Troy Tucker Northampton Community College
From New World Of Coaching
No one likes difficult situations. But in all likelihood, as a coach, you will come face to face with an unforeseen problem at some point during the season. How you respond is critical.
Stay at the Top of Your Game!
Receive articles like this by signing up for our newsletters